Basics – Thesis Hub https://thesishub.org Knowledge Sharing Platform for Researchers. Sat, 16 Dec 2017 21:20:26 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.4.1 WHAT IS RESEARCH? https://thesishub.org/what-is-research/ https://thesishub.org/what-is-research/#comments Mon, 19 Sep 2016 23:26:23 +0000 http://thesishub.org/newthesishub/?p=9245 The starting point of a research is the selection of a research topic and problem. Identifying a suitable topic for work is one of the most difficult parts of a research. ]]> https://thesishub.org/what-is-research/feed/ 2 Applied and Basic Research https://thesishub.org/applied-and-basic-research/ Tue, 06 Sep 2016 09:03:19 +0000 http://thesishub.org/newthesishub/?p=8272 The choice between applied and basic research is a watershed career decision. Perhaps it is to be expected that the individual will reinforce that choice, by emphasizing the perceived disadvantages of the rejected option.]]> Big Science versus Little Science https://thesishub.org/big-science-versus-little-science/ Mon, 29 Aug 2016 04:25:35 +0000 http://thesishub.org/newthesishub/?p=8270 As the geometric growth in number of scientists collides with the linear growth in available science funding, debate is inevitable about where the scarce resources should go. Much of this debate has centered on the issue of big versus little science.]]> Human Learning Styles https://thesishub.org/human-learning-styles/ Tue, 05 Jul 2016 19:57:20 +0000 http://thesishub.org/newthesishub/?p=6230 Human Learning StylesEveryone is unique, as people and as learners. If you can identify your instinctive approach to learning, you will be able to see your natural strengths and weaknesses. If you can build on your strengths and strengthen your weaknesses, you will be in a better position to gain control over your learning Four learning styles […]]]> Evaluating Information – Applying the “Craap” Test https://thesishub.org/evaluating-information-applying-craap-test/ Thu, 30 Jun 2016 19:41:22 +0000 http://thesishub.org/newthesishub/?p=6219 Evaluating Information – Applying the "Craap" TestWhen you search for information, you’re going to find lots of it . . . but is it good information? You will have to determine that for yourself, and the CRAAP Test can help. The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more […]]]> Note-taking https://thesishub.org/note-taking/ Sat, 28 May 2016 13:15:39 +0000 https://mythesishub.wordpress.com/?p=928 Note-takingWhy take notes? Note-taking is part of the learning process and a skill all students need to master to have a useful and accurate account of lectures and readings. The key is to capture knowledge accurately in a way that is meaningful and pleasing to you.  Note-taking enhances listening and concentration skills; provides a personal […]]]> A Guide to Critical Thinking https://thesishub.org/a-guide-to-critical-thinking/ Sat, 28 May 2016 12:59:51 +0000 https://mythesishub.wordpress.com/?p=870 WHAT ARE THE ISSUE AND THE CONCLUSION? Before we evaluate someone’s reasoning, we must first find it. Doing so sounds simple; it isn’t. To get started as a critical thinker, you must practice the identification of the issue and the conclusion.  Cell phones are becoming a large part of today’s society bringing with than benefits […]]]>